So I like cover songs… a lot. It’s always interesting to see another artists take on a track, and therefore find myself searching them out on a regular basis. I have now decided that seeing as how I enjoy them so much, I am going to post the exceptional ones in the hopes that others will as well. Volume one will showcase some of my favorite covers of hip-hop and R&B songs as it is always entertaining to see an indie musician try and get in touch with their inner “gangsta.” Here are five examples.

1 – Tegan and Sara – Umbrella (org. by Rhianna)

Yes I realize this song is SO 2008 (or maybe even 2007) but I don’t care, it’s still a great cover. Also, almost IMPOSSIBLE to find a decent version of it as a studio version was never recorded,  and we therefore have to rely on screaming girls with cameras. Boo.

2 – Gossip – Are U That Somebody (org. by Aaliyah)

So I won’t lie, I kinda love Aaliyah. Also, I quite enjoy Beth Ditto (lead singer of Gossip) so this track really makes me happy. What I like about this version compared to the original is how it uses real drums to create the beat, and that the annoying “baby gurgle” noise found in Aaliyah’s version is omitted.

3 – Obadiah Parker – Hey Ya (org. by Andre 3000)

This is one of the rare occasions where you realize that even hip-hop can be made lovely (although not exclusively as you will learn later.)

4 – Fresh Prince 0f Bel Air Theme  – Kay Pettigrew (org. by Will Smith and DJ Jazzy Jeff)

I have nothing to say except that that this is totally awesome!

5 – Antony and the Johnsons – Crazy in Love (org. by Beyonce)

As a friend put it when we say him do this live, “he almost makes Beyonce poetic.” I maybe wouldn’t go that far, but it is beautiful. This man could do a cover of “Mary Had a Little Lamb” and it would probably still break my heart… but in a good way.

END OF VOLUME ONE.

BONUS:
So I noticed something recently:
2987414604_e47e44283051752488
Does anyone else see the resemblance here?

