I remember an innumeracy story from my undergrad well because it made me cringe to be a Canadian.

In a first-year archeology class, we had a question on a quiz about calculating radio-carbon dates. On the board, the prof used a straight line calculation because he was clueless. A straight-line calculation is ridiculous for radioactive decay and results in an answer thousands of years off. All the foreign students whipped out an an exponential function, quickly did the math, and came up with the correct answer. It became pretty obvious that this hapless prof had no idea what he was doing, but the foreign students had every idea of what they were doing. I wondered what they thought about that hapless prof considering what they paid for their Canadian education, and I wondered what they thought about our society in general. That made me cringe.

