I’m well aware most readers of this blog (hey Mom and Dad!) are not particularly interested in discussing math in our education system, but I have to share this quote by Dr. Arvind Gupta:

“What I find interesting is that, if most people couldn’t read beyond a Grade 6 level, we’d be really concerned about it. We’d be saying, ‘We’ve got an illiterate society.’ We have this major push for literacy. And yet we have a society where a lot of people don’t really go beyond Grade 6 math. Or their comprehension isn’t much better than Grade 6 math. We’re quite blasé about it. And I think we as a country just have to make it a priority.”

You can read all about his thoughts here.

Something else that’s interesting in the Globe and Mail today is a lengthy retrospective on Napster, which turns 10 next month.

But while reading an article on the impact of technology on old media, I couldn’t help but wonder why the Globe and Mail insists on putting pull quotes into an online article. The point of pull quotes in printed media is to draw readers into reading the story. But, by virtue of me clicking to read the article, I’ve already committed to reading the story. I can’t just flip through a web site like I can a paper or magazine.

Are pull quotes useful in online newspaper articles, or are they just a distraction? My vote is for the later.

