Last week (July 7th), Polaris organizers announced the Short List for 2009 and since I’m a horrible person/blogger I didn’t even post some review on any of the contesting albums from it.

Here is what 181 journalists, bloggers and broadcasters whittled down from the Long List:

  • Windsor, Ont.’s Elliott Brood, Mountain Meadows
  • Toronto’s F—ed Up, The Chemistry Of Common Life
  • Toronto’s Great Lake Swimmers, Lost Channels
  • St. John’s, N.L.’s Hey Rosetta!, Into Your Lungs
  • Toronto’s K’naan, Troubadour
  • Montreal’s Malajube, Labyrinthes
  • Toronto’s Metric, Fantasies
  • Halifax’s Joel Plaskett, Three
  • Calgary’s Chad VanGaalen, Soft Airplane
  • Montreal’s Patrick Watson, Wooden Arms

While I’m excited to see such talent go head-to-head, they are all established artists who, for the most part, have already been nominated in past years. Patrick Watson even won in 2007 for his album Close to Paradise. Furthermore, the list is definitely dominated by central and eastern Canada with the only album from west of Windsor being Chad VanGaalen’s Soft Airplane.

I would have liked to see more first time nominations make it to the Short List: Cœur De Pirate’s self titled album was a catchy Internet success story (though I don’t understand the lyrics because its entirely in French) and even Jill Barber’s simple and sultry album, Chances that alludes back to the days of smokey lounges and jazz ballads, was also worthy. Though I did not get the chance to check out much more.

So far my money is on Plaskett for his triple album Three, however, I would like Soft Airplane to win. I’ve followed Chad since before his first album and I find him a man of many talents (considering he plays most of the instruments on his albums and some he even invented in addition to illustrating/animating his own music videos) able to evoke strong emotions with or without vocals.

Hopefully I’ll listen to the other albums and let you know if my prediction changes. No promises though.

