So I realize that out of everyone that reads this blog, I am probably one of the only people that will care about what I am about to post. Oh well! The joy of blogging is that it gives you an outlet to talk about whatever you please, and I plan to take advantage of that.

So it’s no secret by now that I have a weak spot for hip-hop, and that I am quite a fan of Jay-Z. So you can guess just how excited I was to find out that a new album would be released in September. Then came the release of the new single/video D.O.A. (Death of Autotune) which I must say is a very solid track. Add the recent announcement that MGMT is among the guests on the album, and let’s jut say that I am heavily anticipating the disc’s release.

Yesterday, I learned that the supposed second single for the album, “Run This Town” feat. Rihanna and Kanye West, was leaked to the Internet. While I really enjoy the song and do see it appearing on many a play list in the near future, there is something I find quite ironic about the whole thing. Press for the album has stated that “The Blueprint Vol.3” will be an “anti-autotune” album, and the first single helps to back up that claim. What I find funny about the whole thing is that the two artists featured prominently on the next single have relied heavily on the technology.

First off, while Kanye is one of the most talented rappers out there right now, let us not forget that his WHOLE last album featured (well pretty much relied on) the technology.

Secondly, Rihanna sings the hook. Now don’t get me wrong, I actually kinda like Rihanna. While I wouldn’t say I am a huge fan of her music, I do feel it is catchy and fun to dance too, and that she is pretty much the most georgous and stylish “pop-star” at the moment. I also respect the fact that apart from her recent troubles with her (I hope) ex-boyfriend, you hardly ever read about her antics in the press. But let’s be honest here, her music heavily relies on production and auto tune. I have seen a live performance or two, and while they are flashy and entertaining, her vocals do not quite match up to the recorded version. At least she actually “sings” live however, although I do find it sad that we have reached the point where we need to applaud recent entertainers for that fact. But that is topic which would require a whole other post, and I will currently move on. 

Back to the new single. It should be noted that Kanye is back to rapping, and the auto tune has at least been turned down on Rihanna’s vocals. Maybe it isn’t ironic or a coincidence at all, and Jay-Z is smarter than me and making a statement by featuring these artists on his track. Or maybe I am being ridiculous and spending way too much time over-analysing a hip-hop track that I will simply find myself drunkenly dancing to in the near future. That last option seems like a very strong possibility.  Listen to the track below. 

